Skip to content

The Illuminate Volunteer Conference Comes to Nashville in 2012

September 15, 2011

Many of you saw pictures on The Inclusive Church’s Facebook page from my recent workshop at the Illuminate Volunteer Conference in Birmingham.  This was my first Illuminate conference to participate in and it was fantastic.  It was power-packed with two sessions led by Jim Wideman and various choices for participants to attend 2 workshops.  I am a personal fan of Jim Wideman because he offers so many practical takeaways while being hysterically funny (a true gift).  I sat in on Sam Luce’s “At Your Service” workshop.  After hearing Sam, it isn’t hard to see why Sam is one of the most influential kidmin voices today (and also incredibly down to earth!).  In my workshop, I offered 50 ideas for successfully including kids with both identified and undisclosed special needs.  We had a jam-packed room with super interactive participants.  I loved it!  I stayed in my workshop room for 2 hours after the workshop was over chatting “special needs inclusion” with so many wonderful children’s ministry leaders.  The Birmingham conference was such a success, that for two days after it was over I was receiving personal calls from my Birmingham friends asking for details on the 2012 venue and schedule!  (Nothing like planning ahead!).

When Kenny Conley, the creator of the Illuminate Conference, contacted me a couple of weeks ago and said that a Nashville location was in the works, I was thrilled.  So…I’ll be teaching my “Special Needs:  Surviving to Thriving” workshop in Nashville in February.  This conference provides an incredible opportunity for churches to expose their volunteers to a one-day kidmin juice-up, and for $30 a person or less (if you sign up early, you can get in for as little $17.50 per person).

For more details on the Saturday, February 18th, 2012 event, visit nashville.illuminateconference.tv.

P.S. I’ll be at the 2011 Austin, TX Illuminate Conference in a few short weeks, on November 12th!

From → Conferences

One Comment
  1. Martin permalink

    Hi Amy-

    Our church hosted a Tina Houser workshop this past weekend. She is soooo amazing. I was speaking with her after the workshop and explained to her that I have a 13 year old son with autism. I have been wanting to start a special needs ministry, yet not sure how or when to start it. In the interim we do have a few special needs children involved in our church. I am so excited to read all of the information on your website and blog! Tina couldn’t say enough amazing things about you! Thank you in advance for awesome ideas and support!

    Michelle Martin
    Clairemont Church of God
    San Diego, CA

Leave a Reply

